Families often have a complex dynamic. Even those filled with love and respect can have strong disagreements. Unfortunately, these disagreements can sometimes result in anger and, on rare occasions, violence from one or both parties. Sometimes, this results in a domestic violence charge. For those in California facing such accusations, understanding the laws governing such charges and the potential implications of a conviction could help them better understand their predicament.
According to California law, a domestic violence charge could result from certain interactions with a variety of number people. Those included are someone with whom a person is or has been in a romantic relationship, a current or former roommate or the parent of the person’s child. Child abuse and domestic violence charges could also come in conjunction with one another.
Prosecutors have several different options when filing criminal charges in a case involving alleged domestic violence. Depending on which penal code the charges are filed under, a person convicted of such charges could be fined from $2,000 to $6,000 and/or face one to six years in prison. Additional outcomes include probation or counseling. If the person has a history of such charges, the prosecutor could pursue harsher penalties.
In many instances, domestic violence cases involve one person’s word against another’s. What may look like an attack to others not present at the time of the incident could be a case of self-defense. Fortunately, there is help available for those in California facing criminal charges. An experienced attorney can help a defendant better understand his or her legal options and choose the most appropriate course of action.
Source: FindLaw, “California Domestic Violence Law“, Accessed on May 16, 2016